Wed, 21 September 2011 The Shirley Jackson Awards 2011

Shirley Jackson AwardsI’m pleased to be able to announce that I’ve been asked to be a member of the jury for The Shirley Jackson Awards 2011.

The Shirley Jackson Awards were established in 2007 to recognise outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror and the dark fantastic.

Shirley Jackson (1916-1965) wrote such classic novels as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as one of the most famous short stories in the English language, “The Lottery.”

My fellow jurors this year are: Laird Barron, Matthew Cheney, Kaaron Warren and Gary K. Wolfe. The administrator of the Awards is JoAnn Cox.

The rules of the Awards and how to submit work for the attention of the jury are available on the web site.  If you have any questions please contact JoAnn via the SJA web site.

I’ve already begun reading, and I look forward to becoming thoroughly acquainted with this year’s writing in a genre I love so much.

Comment Pages

There are 2 Comments to "The Shirley Jackson Awards 2011"

Write a Comment

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • Quote

    “All that I hope to say in books, all that I ever hope to say, is that I love the world.” — E.B. White

  • Publications

    Slideshow time!
  • Pages

  • Tweets

    Facebook Twitter Flickr
    Google+ LinkedIn Tumblr
  • Recent Comments

  • Latest Flickr Images
    Splinister's items Go to Splinister's photostream
  • Tags


    December 2018
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep