British Fantasy Awards 2012 – nominees

The short-lists have been announced for the 2012 British Fantasy Awards:


  • 11.22.63 by Stephen King (Scribner)
  • Among Others by Jo Walton (Tor Books)
  • Cyber Circus by Kim Lakin-Smith (NewCon Press)
  • A Dance with Dragons by George R R Martin (Bantam)
  • The Heroes by Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz)
  • The Ritual by Adam Nevill (Pan)

There will be two awards in the best Novel category: The August Derleth Award for best horror novel and The Robert Holdstock Award for best fantasy novel.


  • ‘Alice through the plastic sheet’ by Robert Shearman (A Book of Horrors, Jo Fletcher Books)
  • ‘Ghosts with Teeth’ by Peter Crowther (A Book of Horrors, Jo Fletcher Books)
  • ‘Gorel and the Pot-Bellied God’ by Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)
  • ‘The Music of Bengt Karlsson, Murderer’ by John Ajvide Lindqvist (A Book of Horrors, Jo Fletcher Books)
  • ‘Near Zennor’ by Elizabeth Hand (A Book of Horrors, Jo Fletcher Books)
  • ‘Terra Damnata’ by James Cooper (PS Publishing)

Short Fiction

  • ‘The Coffin-Maker’s Daughter’ by Angela Slatter (A Book of Horrors, Jo Fletcher Books)
  • ‘King Death’ by Paul Finch (Spectral Press)
  • ‘Sad, Dark Thing’ by Michael Marshall Smith (A Book of Horrors, Jo Fletcher Books)
  • ‘Dermot’ by Simon Bestwick (Black Static, TTA Press)
  • ‘Florrie’ by Adam Nevill (House of Fear, Solaris Books )


  • A Book of Horrors, edited by Stephen Jones (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • House of Fear, edited by Jonathan Oliver  (Solaris Books)
  • Gutshot, edited byConrad Williams (PS Publishing)
  • The Weird, edited by Jeff and Ann Vandermeer (Corvus)


  • Everyone’s Just So So Special by Robert Shearman (Big Finish)
  • A Glass of Shadow by Liz Williams (NewCon Press)
  • Mrs Midnight by Reggie Oliver (Tartarus)
  • Rumours of the Marvellous by Peter Atkins (Alchemy Press)


  • Attack the Block written by Joe Cornish
  • The Awakening written by Stephen Volk, Nick Murphy
  • Kill List written by Ben Wheatley, Amy Jump
  • Melancholia written by Lars von Trier
  • Midnight in Paris written by Woody Allen


  • Black Static, edited by Andy Cox (TTA Press)
  • The Horror Zine, edited by Jeani Rector (
  • Interzone, edited by Andy Cox (TTA Press)
  • SFX , edited by Dave Bradley (Future Publishing)

Comic/Graphic Novel

  • Animal Man by Jeff Lemire and Travel Foreman  (DC Comics)
  • Batwoman by JH Williams III and W Haden Blackman (DC Comics)
  • Locke and Key by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez  (IDW Publishing)
  • The Unwritten by Mike Carey and Peter Gross (Vertigo)
  • The Walking Dead by Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard (Image)

The PS Publishing Independent Press Award


  • Sandy Auden
  • Peter Crowther
  • Nicholas Royle
  • Peter Tennant
  • Darren Turpin


  • Chômu Press – Quentin S Crisp
  • Gray Friar Press – Gary Fry
  • NewCon Press – Ian Whates
  • Spectral Press – Simon Marshall-Jones



  • Guy Adams
  • Anne Sudworth
  • Christopher Teague


  • Ben Baldwin
  • Vincent Chong
  • Les Edwards
  • Daniele Serra



  • Djibril al-Ayad
  • Roz Kaveney
  • Adam Roberts


  • Case Notes by Peter Tennant (Black Static)
  • Lest You Should Suffer Nightmares: A biography of Herbert Van Thal by Johnny Mains (Screaming Dreams)
  • Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen since the 1960s by Kim Newman (Bloomsbury Publishing)
  • Studies in Terror: Landmarks of Horror Cinema by Jonathan Rigby (Signum Books)
  • Supergods: Our World in the Age of the Superhero by Grant Morrison (Jonathan Cape)

As a member of the jury reading the various fiction categories I’ll have a lot of interesting titles to contemplate in the coming months. My fellow jurors are James Barclay, Hal Duncan, Esther Sherman, and Damien G. Walter.

The winners in all the categories will be announced at the British Fantasy Awards Ceremony during FantasyCon in Brighton from 27-30 September, 2012.

%d bloggers like this: